Morning Walks Matter

David Boozer
2 min readJul 13, 2023

--

Country Road | Photo by David | Canon 90D - 50mm

I love my morning walks. They matter a lot to me. The reason is both my walk with the Lord and my health. Both matter, but I would always put an emphasis on one’s spiritual walk, of course.

Speaking from a dad’s perspective, you need that time alone to walk and talk with the Lord; making time for Him and you to search those deep things of God is vitally important for a man. This is how we grow inwardly and outwardly too.

My walk consists of listening to a daily episode of Through The Bible with Jay Vernon McGee Then, on the way back, I listen and chat in my mind or out loud, to be honest, with the good Lord Himself. And yes, the occasional wave or “good morning” to neighbors driving up and down this old country road.

As for my health, well, I got fat working at home for over twelve years. Now it is time to actually lose it as I am working outside the home three to four days a week. I do not eat during the day on those days, so fasting helps, but I need to walk more on those days off.

Plus, I think getting out and about with the old camera will help with that!

Now I know that this blog will consist of a lot about hobby photography, free writing, and such, but I will spend a good amount of time writing about faith, family, and everything in between from a dad’s perspective, and I mean a faith-based dad’s perspective at that!

That is why these morning walks are so important because it is about pulling yourself out of the craziness of the world for a short period of time and letting the Lord talk to you, not just you asking Him for a bunch of favors, that’s not a Christian walk, that’s simply empty and vain.

This is a time for you and me to truly dive in, listen to His words through our favorite pastor for a few, then continue that conversation with the starter of all conversations, Jesus. This is a time to learn how we are to be the “doers” of His word, to live out that life we know is just, right, and full of grace and forgiveness along the way.

You can make it an afternoon walk, an evening walk, a run or jog, or even a quiet workout session if that’s your thing. No matter what it is, this is when we dads pull ourselves from the noise and focus all our attention on the One who guides our paths along those morning walks of life…

From the land of plaid & coffee, God bless!

David.

--

--

David Boozer

Pacific Northwest-based believer, blessed husband, and proud dad. I love writing, hobby photograghy, and reading.